Āgamas - Jain Scriptures

They are eternal, firm, permanent, non-destructive, non-decaying and everlasting.
There is no knowledge in this world;
There is no element in this world;
There is no study in this world;
There is not a single thing in this world, which is not there in Āgama scriptures.

Lord Mahāvīra's preaching was orally compiled by Gandharas, and elder monks known as Srut-kevalis into many texts (Aphorism - Sūtras) by his disciples. Collectively these texts make up Jain canonical or Āgama literature. The Āgamas, also called the Jain Shrut, are as important in the Jain Dharm as are the Vedas in Brahmanic religion and the Pitakas in Buddhism.

Āgama literature is divided into two groups:
A. Aṅga-āgamas or Aṅga-pravista-āgamas
B. Aṅga-bahya-āgamas (outside of Aṅga-āgamas)

Subject Matter of the Āgamas

Āgama deal with proper conduct;  with preaching of Jain religion;  with contemporary concepts pertaining to psychology, biology, environment, material sciences, geography, history, politics, mathematics, astrology, cosmology, cosmography, astronomy, and related topics;  with atonements and the treatment of the general and exceptional rules of Jain monastic conduct;  with the life story of the followers of the path propounded by the Jinas;  with teachings for eternal wisdom and fundamentals of religious conduct by narrating illustrative stories;  with Lord Mahavira's dialogues with others; with metaphysics; with the various states of a soul; with the Jain view of the nature and the types of knowledge; with discussions pertaining to soul (Atmā), matter (Pudgal), knowledge (Jnan), Naya, Pramāna, etc.; with the Jain method of exposition (anuyoga). etc.



This site is mainatained by:
Site is under development. Please check for updates.